Posted by: angmlr007 | 03/03/2011

Why I decided to take up Photography

“Photography is a way of feeling, of touching, of loving. What you have caught on film is captured forever… it remembers little things, long after you have forgotten everything.” – Aaron Siskind

Taken at X’mas Island in 2006

For those of you who are still unaware, I’ve recently picked up photography, with the encouragement and support of my friends around me (Eugene, Chris, if you’re seeing this). I think it is a bit interesting to examine the reasons why I picked photography. Yes, there are reasons for pursuing interests and hobbies, and photography will be no exception for me.

1. It is a skill that is easy to pick up…

Seriously. I’m not even talking about needing to know technical knowledge about DSLRs and stuff. Just pick up any point-and-shoot camera, and your journey in photography begins. The “Auto” mode on cameras makes it so easy to take photos these days, that even a three-year-old can learn how to take a photo of his grandparents. Granted, you may not be able to take outstanding photos without additional knowledge, but at least it is easy to start learning, and the learning curve isn’t too demanding.

Err, not this kind of point-and-shoot

2. … yet it is tough to master.

We look at awesome photos, and we go “oooh” and “aaaah”, but when we ask the photographers about their work, they will tell you that it is far from good. The road in photography is endless, just like how life-long learning is endless. There is always something new to learn, something new to experiment with, and something new to endeavour into and – hopefully – excel in. Photographers take years to hone their art to perfection, and even by then, they will never stop themselves from continuing to improve.

3. It’s a great way to record memories.

I used to keep a blog to record all my high school memories, but nothing sends my synapses tickling more than a couple of simple photos of things in my life. Even mundane things like a photo of a friend in a classroom would trigger emotions far deeper than an entire essay on my blog. The better we are at photography, the better we become at turning these precious moments into pictures that last forever.

4. Photography is an art. Photography is a form of expression.

Solitude

Being one that enjoys expressing his thoughts, I discovered that pictures are another great way to convey ideas and express emotions to others around me. As I am a bad artist (I can’t draw/paint/sculpt for nuts), I decided that photography will do. The amazing thing is that it doesn’t take much effort for you to capture a moment, but once the snapshot is taken, it is subject to the scrutiny and interpretation of your viewers, which can lead to a lot of different ideas.

5. Sharing photos has never been easier.

Because of the rise of social networking media (i.e. Facebook), it has become very convenient for us to share the photographs we’ve taken. That was sort of like another incentive for me to take up photography and start snapping my photos. Every time I go out with friends now for events/gatherings, I try to bring my camera out so that I can take photos and tag my friends on Facebook. It’s a great way to continue conversation even after the event has passed.

 

And of course there are a whole load of other miscellaneous reasons for me picking up photography:

6. Roslyn upgraded her D80 to D90, so I picked up her second-hand DSLR to poke around and have fun with.

7. I like being photographed, but I look so un-photogenic. So by being the photographer, it’s a convenient excuse to stay out of photos.

8. Because I am fascinated by the workings of a DSLR. *puts on geek hat*

9. And it’s FUN!

Leave a Reply

Categories

